The Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism celebrate the best in freelance journalism and local reporters who show great courage and commitment to reporting on controversial issues in a developing country or nation in transition. The stories can focus on conflict, human-rights concerns, cross-border issues, or any other issue of controversy in a particular country or region.

Underwritten by the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund and Reuters, the prizes honour Kurt Schork, an American freelance journalist who was killed in a military ambush while on assignment for Reuters on 24 May 2000, in Sierra Leone.

Two Award Categories:

* Local Reporter covering local stories

* Freelance Journalist covering international news


Prize is $5,000 USD for each category winner.

Deadline for applications is 22-June-09.

All submissions must demonstrate professionalism, meet international journalistic standards, and provide evidence that courage and determination played a role in generating the articles. Winners will be chosen by an international panel of judges.

To apply by email or post please download and print out the 2009 Kurt Schork Awards PDF application form.

You can email your entries to or send by post to:

Kurt Schork Awards
Institute for War & Peace Reporting
48 Gray’s Inn Road
London WC1X 8LT
United Kingdom


Local Reporter: Print journalists employed by a local news outlet and residing in a developing country or nation in transition (non OECD or EU countries), whose work has been published in a local publication are eligible. Although individual journalists are the primary focus, submissions from a team of journalists will also be considered.

Freelance Journalist: All freelance print journalists and those contracted by news organizations are eligible. A freelance journalist is an individual who is not employed by a news organization. They are self-employed, providing services, either on the basis of time or on the production of editorial materials as defined by individual contractual arrangements, and earn the majority of their income from journalism.

Eligible media: Entries are welcomed from all types of print-based media including newspapers and magazines and established on-line publications. Blogs and personal websites are not eligible.